Where you begin in Cub Scouting depends on your age at the time you join. If you join when you’re in first grade, you will begin as a Tiger Cub. If you do not join until the third grade, no problem!  You’ll begin as a Bear Cub Scout. You won’t have to go back and earn the Tiger Cub and Wolf badges. 

Pack 55, as with all Cub Scout organizations, is organized into a "Pack" and multiple "Dens".  The "Pack" is the total collection of Scouts (grades K-5) and their leaders.  "Dens" are subgroups organized by specific grade level, with one to two leaders in each Den.

Our Pack welcomes boys and girls into the Scouting program.  We organize boys and girls into their own dens, where they work on their level requirements.  Our Pack meetings bring all dens together for special adventures and activities.  Our Pack is organized as follows:

Pack 55
|                                       |
BOYS                              GIRLS
Lion Dens                          Lion Dens
Tiger Dens                         Tiger Dens
Wolf Dens                          Wolf Dens

Bear Dens                          Bear Dens
Webelos 1 Dens                 
Webelos 1 Dens
Webelos 2 Dens                 
Webelos 2 Dens

Lion Cubs (Kindergarten)
Kindergarten children begin with the Lion Cub den.  Lion Cubs and their parents / guardians work together as a team and with the other Lion Cub families to explore and receive their achievement recognition stickers.



Tiger (First Grade)
First-grade children join the Tiger Cub den, where each child works with an adult partner on the requirements, earning belt loops for each milestone and ultimately his Tiger Cub badge.



Wolf (Second Grade)
Second-grade children graduate into the Wolf den. They go to weekly den meetings on their own, but their families still help them work on the requirements for the Wolf badge.


Bear (Third Grade)
Children in the third grade are members of the Bear den. They also work with their families to do the requirements for the Bear badge, but children this old have enough knowledge and skill to take on more of the work by themselves.


Webelos Scouts (Fourth and Fifth Grades)
Children in the fourth and fifth grades join Webelos Scouts 1 and Webelos Scouts 2, respectively. Webelos Scouts do more advanced activities to get ready to graduate into the older Scouting program.

The Arrow of Light Award
The highest award in Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light Award, which children will begin working on as a Webelos Scout. It is the only Cub Scout badge that boys can wear on the older Scout uniform. As the children work on the Arrow of Light Award, they’ll practice outdoor skills, get physically fit, and learn more about citizenship and working with others. All of these things prepare them for the next stage of Scouting.